Administrative Frame Work

The University Act of 1983 is the operating basis for the actualisation of the re-born  NOUN. The Act provides, amongst others, that the  President of the  Federal Republic of Nigeria is the  Visitor to  the university. This is similar to the custom in the conventional universities in the country. In addition, there is a Council headed by the Pro-Chancellor, whose members are constituted by the Visitor through the Honourable Minister of Education. Currently, the Council of NOUN is made up of 15 appointed members apart from the internal  members of  the university  and representatives of  designated agencies  of government. The academic activities of the university are run through the Senate which has the  Vice-Chancellor as its Chairman and all Professors and Programme Leaders as members. The administrative machinery of the university is enhanced through directorates and units which at the moment are:  

Name Head Email
Course Material Development Unit (CMDU) Prof. Salawu O Ibrahim
SERVICOM Eunice Riki (Mrs)
Anti-Corruption And Transparency Unit Of The University Mr. Ikenze Ifeanyi
Visitors Information & Call Centres (VICC) Margaret T. Merari
Manpower Development Unit .
Legal Services Barr. Daniel Riki
Internal Audit ----------------------------
Staff Training & Development Mrs. Margaret Boro
Director (Academic Registry) Ms. Temitayo R. Olowola
Deputy Registrar (Council) Mrs Wosilat M. Ainodion
Open Educational Resources Unit -------
Quality Assurance Unit -
Procurement Mr. Nasir Marafa
Transport and Logistics Mallam Isa Shehu
University Clinic Dr. Mohammed S. Hassan
Name Head Email
Vice Chancellor's Office Professor Olufemi A. Peters
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Uduma Uduma Orji
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) Professor Isaac Sammani Butswat
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Technology, Innovation and Research) Professor Monioluwa Omolara Olaniyi
Registry Mr. Felix Edoka
Bursary Mr. Ernest Odeigah
Learners Support Services Prof. Greg Okagbare
Directorate for Entrepreneurship And General Studies (DE&GS) Prof. Juliet Inegbedion
Directorate of Information & Communications Technology (DICT) Dr. Gregory O. Onwodi
Directorate of Management Information System (DMIS) Prof. Muhtar H. Alhassan
Directorate of Physical Development, Work & Services -------------------
Academic Planning Prof. Godwin I. Akper
Regional Training & Research Institute for Distance and Open Learning (RETRIDOL) Prof. Christine Ofulue
Library Dr. Adam G. Saleh
Directorate of Examinations and Assessment Prof. Olugbega D. Ojo
Students Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES) Prof. Joy C. Eyisi
Media and Publicity Mal. Ibrahim Sheme
Research Administration and Advancement ................................
Directorate of Learning Content Management System Dr. Adewale Adesina
School of Postgraduate Studies Prof. Chiedu Mafiana
Centre for Human Resource Development (CHRD) Prof. Mande Samaila
Advancement and Linkages Mrs. Omorogieva E. Ileka
Directorate of Security Services --
Human Resources Mr. John J. Ubaji
Olusegun Obasanjo Centre For African Studies Prof. Eserinune M. Mojaye
Centre of Excellence in Migration and Global Studies (CEM&GS) Dr. Gloria Oiyahumen Anetor
Protocol Services Barr. Fatai A. Lawal

How to Find Us

                    NOUN New Logo

National Open University of Nigeria
University Village
Plot 91, Cadastral Zone
Nnamdi Azikiwe Expressway
Jabi, Abuja 

Contact the Abuja Head Quarters between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers:
08079917938, 07064701747, 09082907092

Contact the Lagos Office between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers: 09056463036, 08038514090

Visit a Study Centre.

© 2021 National Open University of Nigeria. All rights reserved.